Engineering Careers are looking good!

Snowmachine 2010

So you want to be an engineer? The College of Engineering and Mines at UAF can make that dream a reality for you. It's a great time to consider a career in engineering as the demand for engineers has never been higher in the US. UAF's commitment to engineering education has made us a first-rate engineering college. All of our undergraduate programs are accredited by ABET. UAF was also recently designated one of the Best in the West by the Princeton Review, the only university within a 1,500 mile radius tagged for this distinction.

If you're looking for a successful, rewarding and fun experience, CEM is here to provide you with the skills to become the creative engineering professional that shapes tomorrow.

 

Important Dates - Fall Semester 2013

Download the full UAF Academic Calender for 2013-2014

Residence halls open, 8 a.m. Sunday, Sept. 1
Orientation for new students Sunday – Wednesday,
Sept. 1 – 4
Labor Day (offices closed — no classes, registration or fee payment) Monday, Sept. 2
First day of instruction; late registration begins Thursday, Sept. 5
Deadline for adding classes, late registration and fee payment; 6 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Friday, Sept. 13
Deadline for 100% refund of tuition and fees Friday, Sept. 20
Deadline for student- and faculty-initiated drops (course does not appear on academic record) Friday, Sept. 20
Freshman progress reports due Friday, Oct. 11
Deadline to apply for fall 2013 graduation Tuesday, Oct. 15
Deadline for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W grade appears on academic record) Friday, Nov. 1
Thanksgiving holiday (no classes, most offices closed) Thursday – Sunday,
Nov. 28 – Dec. 1
Last day of instruction Friday, Dec. 13
Final examinations Monday – Thursday,
Dec. 16 – 19
Residence halls close, noon Friday, Dec. 20
Deadline for faculty to post grades, noon Tuesday, Dec. 24
Winter holiday (no classes, most offices closed; reopen Friday, Jan. 3 at 8 a.m.) Wednesday – Thursday, Dec. 25 – Jan. 2

Important Dates - Spring Semester 2014

Deadline to apply for admission for spring semester (graduate students) Tuesday, Oct. 15
Spring 2014 course list available at UAOnline Monday, Oct. 28
Deadline to apply for admission for spring semester (undergraduate students) Friday, Nov. 1
Begin registration and fee payment for degree students for spring 2014 semester Monday, Nov. 11
Begin registration and fee payment for non-degree students for spring 2014 semester Monday, Nov. 18
WINTERmester courses begin Friday, Jan. 3
Deadline for WINTERmester student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W grade appears on academic transcript) Friday, Jan. 10
Residence halls open, 8 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 14
Orientation for new students Wednesday, Jan. 15
First day of instruction; late registration begins Thursday, Jan. 16
Alaska Civil Rights Day (no classes, most offices closed) Monday, Jan. 20
Deadline for adding classes, late registration and fee payment; 6 p.m. in person, midnight at UAOnline Friday, Jan. 24
Deadline for 100 percent refund of tuition and fees Friday, Jan. 31
Deadline for student- and faculty-initiated drops (course does not appear on academic record) Friday, Jan. 31
Freshman progress reports due Friday Feb. 14
Deadline for UA Foundation and privately funded scholarship applications Saturday, Feb. 15
Deadline to apply for spring 2014 graduation Saturday, Feb. 15
Deadline for student- and faculty-initiated withdrawals (W grade appears on academic transcript) Friday, March 14
Spring break (no classes) Monday – Friday,
March 17 – 21
University holiday (most offices closed for spring break) Friday, March 21
SpringFest (no classes) Friday, April 25
Last day of instruction Monday, May 5
Final examinations Tuesday – Friday,
May 6 – 9
Commencement Sunday, May 11
Residence halls close, noon Monday, May 12
Deadline for faculty to post grades, noon Wednesday, May 14