2018 CEM Distinguished Service & Outstanding Alumnus Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award will go to Chidibere Igbokwe (MS Petroleum Engineering UAF 2006). Chidi joined BP and the Alaska Region 2006 as a petroleum engineer and has worked in a variety of technical roles across a number of reservoirs in Greater Prudhoe Bay. Highlights include serving as the production engineer at Milne Point on viscous oil development and rotating to the Slope as a well site petroleum engineer in Wells Team. He previously worked as a Lead Petroleum Engineer for Greater Prudhoe Bay East Area Flow Station 3 with responsibilities for well management and surface debottlenecking identification. He is currently the Executive Assistant to the President of BP Alaska. He has also served as the forum leader for the BP’s PE Technical Network and is a lead recruiter for BP at UAF. Chidi has been an active volunteer in the Alaska Society of Petroleum Engineers, the UAF Petroleum Advisory Board and the Anchorage International Rotary Club; he is also a Paul Harris Fellow. Chidi earned an MS in Petroleum Engineering from UAF (’06), and a BS in Petroleum Engineering from Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO) Nigeria.

The Outstanding Alumnus Award will go to John C. Gray (BS Mechanical Engineering UAF 1986). John C. Gray, P.E., was born and raised in Fairbanks, and received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from UAF in 1986. John has 31 years of experience in fluid flow, heat transfer and mechanical systems analysis across space and atmospheric vehicles and building/plant systems. In November 2014, John joined the NASA sponsored project CST-100 as the Lead ECLS Analysis Engineer of Boeing. His prior work history includes commercial air transport Environmental Control Systems (ECS), fuselage internal air flow and temperature prediction, and thermal analysis supporting airplane systems and structures. John’s contributions include introducing SWF to fuselage air flow/thermal modeling, Boeing 787 passenger cabin gas-species predictions supporting post LiIon battery event return-to-service, and parametric characterization of AC heating effects in airplane power feeders. He has attained numerous aerospace patents and waiting on five pending patents, as well as receiving many performance and excellence awards in his field over his career.

CEM will be honoring these two individuals and its outstanding students at the 39th Annual CEM Awards Banquet to be held here on campus in the Wood Center Ballroom on April 6, 2018.